Friday, September 2, 2011

The Seven Sorrows of Our Lady

                                       “Our Lady of the Seven Sorrows” by Adriaen Isenbrant

The month of September is traditionally devoted to contemplation of the Seven Sorrows (or Dolors) of Our Lady.  These Seven Sorrows are occasions of suffering in the life of the Blessed Virgin Mary.   They are:

1. The Prophecy of Simeon. (Luke 2:34-35) or the Circumcision of Christ

2. The Flight into Egypt. (Matthew 2:13)

3. The Loss of the Child Jesus in the Temple. (Luke 2:43-45)

4. Mary Meets Jesus on the Way to Calvary. (Luke 23:26)

5. Jesus Dies on the Cross. (John 19:25)

6. Mary Receives the Body of Jesus in Her Arms. (Matthew 27:57-59)

7. The Body of Jesus is Placed in the Tomb. (John 19:40-42)

It is a common devotion for Catholics to say daily one Our Father and seven Hail Mary for each Sorrow.

The feast of Our Lady of Sorrows, which is now celebrated on Sept. 15, originated in Germany in the fifteenth century.

Our Lady of Sorrows, pray for us.

No comments:

Post a Comment